Zero to Mux (with wiki)

• @bobotron I did, but there's stuff with it that's a bit on the fussy side with mediawiki, depending on how you want to do it. The redwerks short url file linked from mediawiki's info on it is pretty good.

I did manage to get this to behave at one point on a multi-wiki-one-droplet install, but it was especially fussy from what I recall.

Despite what some people may be eager to claim all over the place, I am not and never have claimed to be an expert (let alone 'genius') on mediawiki, particularly the server side of it. I have always been super clear I am a server novice at best, so the short url thing is not something I feel at all comfortable walking someone through.

• Coder

@thenomain So Thenomain doesn't forget...

The LAMP droplet needs to be selected from the "one click install" page, when you go to set up a new droplet.

Once you're in, the mysql_secure_installation requires you to enter the password of mysql. This should be created by default and stored in a directory. Look at the motd that displays when you first log in, it'll say to check "/root/.digitalocean_password" which you do with more /root/.digitalocean_password.

In 1. [Step 1] under "Get Us Some MediaWiki", you need to add... sudo apt-get install php-xml and make sure to do a sudo service apache2 restart after that's done!

• Coder

And more...

After installing TinyMUX and setting the port and all, I attempted to connect and I failed. Per Thenomain, he asked me to check if the Mux was running via... telnet localhost <port>

Success, could reach connect screen. Then light bulb. Almost all ports are blocked by default (is this new to THIS distro of Ubuntu? idk). Need to allow through the firewall via... sudo ufw allow <port>/tcp.

• @skew Digitalocean has the ufw firewall installed by default on the LAMP droplet one-click-apps; it's newish but I've seen it going back to around the start of the year from what I recall, at least.